Wovenhand Announce US Tour

Wovenhand, the alternative country project of enigmatic frontman David Eugene Edwards, has announced a three-week tour of the Western US. Support will come from Pontiak, King Dude, Spencer Moody, and DJ Chelsea Wolfe.

??Edwards got his start in the now-legendary 16 Horsepower, who gained notoriety for their blend of rock and gospel and apocalyptic lyrical content. Wovenhand is an extension of that same hellfire-and-brimstone approach.??

The most remarkable thing about Wovenhand is how well-received they are amongst people who are at least somewhat opposed to Christian Rock music.

This is only because Wovenhand absolutely does not sound like what we think of when we hear the term Christian Rock - having way more in common with noise-pioneers Swans than the stock uplifting and inoffensive sounds of the aforementioned genre.

The Transylvanian Hungerrr Blog dug up an old 16 Horsepower interview where Edwards stated that, "I never liked Christian music outside of the church...it doesn't do anything to me, it doesn't make me want to worship God or follow God.

I think God used other music - more aggressive, darker music - to storm up my soul."

??Wovenhand's latest, Refractory Obdurate, was released last April via Deathwish/Glitterhouse.

??Full itinerary:

Tue 11/4/2014 Santa Fe, NM- Skylight (no Pontiak)
Thur 11/6/2014 Lubbock, TX- Bash Riprock's
Fri 11/7/2014 Austin, TX- FFF Nites, Venue TBA // Free Show
Sat 11/8/2014 Dallas, TX- City Tavern
Mon 11/10/2014 El Paso, TX- Lowbrow Palace
Tue 11/11/2014 Phoenix, AZ- Pub Rock Live
Wed 11/12/2014 Los Angeles, CA- Jewel's Catch One ** ^^
Thur 11/13/2014 Atascadero, CA- Molly Pitcher // Free Show
Fri 11/14/2014 San Francisco, CA- Bottom of the Hill
Sat 11/15/2014 Arcata, CA- The Alibi
Mon 11/17/2014 Portland, OR- Hawthorne Theatre
Tues 11/18/2014 Bellingham, WA- The Shakedown
Wed 11/19/2014 Vancouver, BC
Thur 11/20/2014 Seattle, WA- Highline **
Fri 11/21/2014 Boise, ID- Neurolux
Sat 11/22/2014 Salt Lake City, UT- The Garage

** w/King Dude
^^ w/Spencer Moody, DJ Chelsea Wolfe

(Photo credit: Transylvanian Hungerrr)