Teyana Taylor Brings Authenticity On 'VII' Debut Album: Our Review

Empty Lighthouse is a reader-supported site. This article may contain affiliate links to Amazon and other sites. We earn a commission on purchases made through these links.

The smooth and smokey tone of Teyana Taylor shines on her debut album "VII" bringing authenticity to the R&B genre.

An often underrated R&B vocalist, Taylor has created a strong album on Kanye West's Def Jam affiliate, G.O.O.D. Music full with tracks where she displays her talent on her own and a few where she gets a little help from some pretty big names.

She broke through main stream media with the G.O.O.D. Music compilation album "Cruel Summer" but over the years she has blossomed into an authentic young talent in the industry.

"Harlem-based singer, rapper, songwriter, dancer, actor, and model Teyana Taylor gained recognition in the States on an early-2007 episode of MTV's My Super Sweet 16," according to iTunes.

To showcase her singular talent Taylor starts "VII" out with three tracks one of which happens to be an interlude titled, "Outta My League." The smooth interlude leads into the main song titled, "Just Different" a smokey and soft track about heartache, followed by "Request," a song where Taylor offers to perform anything her man requests in a smooth but sultry tone perfect for unwinding with your significant other.

The fourth track titled, "Do Not Disturb," features the R&B sensation Chris Brown who accompanies the sexy song complimenting Taylor very well. They illustrate to the listener what goes on behind close doors when two people just want each other without interruptions.

The overall tone of the song is very sexual and appeals to the bump and grind nature that is popular in the genre.

Track five, "Broken Hearted Girl" features rapper Fabolous as he helps Taylor sort out her broken heart. She speaks of her urges to touch a particular man and Fabolous answers back with his own verse telling her to stop frontin' and get down to business.

He always manages to produce a strong verse fitting for anything he jumps on and the Taylor track is no different.

After another beautiful but brief interlude titled, "It Could Just be Love Interlude," listeners finally get a break from the smokey tone of the album as Taylor tries her hand at a reggae inspired song titled, "Put You On Love." Though it only comes in at two minutes and 17 seconds, the song works well to transition the album into its second half and refreshes the ears of her fans.

Taylor enlists fellow G.O.O.D. Music member Pusha T and Yo Gotti for "Maybe" featuring a deeper more upbeat nature. Taylor sings about all the things that turn her on while Yo Gotti and Pusha T spit lyrics that display their confident personality, while listing the reasons they appeal so much to the ladies.

"Dreams," "Sorry," "Business" and "In The Air" all jump back into the initial smokey and smooth tone of the album and she even pays homage to Ginuwine's "None Of Your Friends Business" in "Business," as she recites the hook to the famous R&B song.

Taylor also revisits the "Outta My League Interlude" with the full track "Outta My League," where she speaks about loving someone that she thinks is "outta her league," however, Taylor is in a new league all of her own with her debut album.

The final song "It Could Just Be Love" leaked a few weeks back as she teased the album and proved to be a great finale to a very solid album. Overall, Taylor's debut "VII" is a success.

She remains authentic and stays true to the artist she is.

No more or no less with the potential for much more in the future. Beautiful lyrics that are neatly placed over smokey tones resound throughout the entire album for a fresh debut album from Teyana Taylor.

Fans looking to let their ears be the judge before purchasing "VII" can head over to HotNewHipHop.com to stream the album for free.

"VII" Tracklisting

1. "Outta My League Interlude"
2. "Just Different"
3. "Request"
4. "Do Not Disturb" (Feat. Chris Brown)
5. "Broken Hearted Girl" (Feat. Fabolous)
6. "It Could Just Be Love Interlude"
7. "Put Your Love On"
8. "Maybe" (Feat. Pusha T & Yo Gotti)
9. "Dreams"
10. "Sorry"
11. "Business"
12. "In the Air"

Deluxe Edition:
13. "Outta My League"
14. "It Could Just Be Love"