Sumac Share 'Thorn in the Lion's Paw'

Empty Lighthouse is a reader-supported site. This article may contain affiliate links to Amazon and other sites. We earn a commission on purchases made through these links.

Sumac, the new "supergroup" featuring Aaron Turner (Isis, Old Man Gloom), Nick Yacyshyn (Baptists) and Brian Cook (Botch, Russian Circles, These Arms Are Snakes) have shared "Thorn in the Lion's Paw" off their upcoming album, The Deal.

Listen Below

The Deal will be released February 3rd through Profound Lore Records.

According to the press release announcing the album, Sumac formed out of Tuner's desire to return to the colossal heaviness of the first few Isis records. He enlisted Yacyshyn for the new project and the duo recorded six tracks with producer Mell Dettmer (Sunn O))), Wolves in the Throne Room) in Seattle.

Afterwards, they recruited Cook to lay down bass tracks and had the album mixed by Kurt Ballou (Converge) at Godcity Studios in Salem, Massachusetts.

The Deal Track Listing:
1. Spectral Gold
2. Thorn In The Lion's Paw
3. Hollow King
4. Blight's End Angel
5. The Deal
6. The Radiance of Being

Photo credit: Tiina Liimu for CVLT Nation