Sumac (Featuring Former Isis and Botch Members) Announce Debut Album

Empty Lighthouse is a reader-supported site. This article may contain affiliate links to Amazon and other sites. We earn a commission on purchases made through these links.

Sumac, the new "supergroup" featuring Aaron Turner (Isis, Old Man Gloom), Nick Yacyshyn (Baptists) and Brian Cook (Botch, Russian Circles, These Arms Are Snakes) will release their debut album, The Deal, on February 3rd via Profound Lore Records.

The band has uploaded a teaser for The Deal to YouTube. Watch below.

According to the press release announcing the album, Sumac formed out of Tuner's desire to return to the colossal heaviness of the first few Isis records.

He enlisted Yacyshyn for the new project and the duo recorded six tracks with producer Mell Dettmer (Sunn O))), Wolves in the Throne Room) in Seattle.

Afterwards, they recruited Cook to lay down bass tracks and had the album mixed by Kurt Ballou (Converge) at Godcity Studios in Boston.

Despite the "supergroup" tag, it should be noted that Sumac is a full time project.

Song premieres and touring info will be announced shortly via the band's Facebook page.

The Deal Album Teaser: