Royksopp and Robyn Announce Release of 'Do It Again' Mini Album

Empty Lighthouse is a reader-supported site. This article may contain affiliate links to Amazon and other sites. We earn a commission on purchases made through these links.

Royksopp and Robyn have announced the release of their 'Do It Again' mini album, which will be released on May 26th.

"Do It Again" is the first single and will be available April 28th digitally. The single serves as an introduction to a new Royksopp album to be released later this year.

The highly anticipated "Do It Again" tour with Royksopp and Robyn kicks off this summer in Spain at the Sonar Festival on June 13th and hits the US with stops including The Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles on June 29th and at Pier 97 in NYC on August 20th.

"This 5 track mini-album is the accumulation and embodiment of the synergy between Robyn and ourselves," Royksopp recently stated.

"We've intended this to be a diverse yet cohesive and thought through musical venture; it's meant to be an expression where pop & art reign side by side."

Royksopp and Robyn were inspired by each other's company and compelled to create something they had never done before, building on the brief moments when they had come together in the past.

Having worked together on "The Girl and the Robot", which appeared on Royksopp's Junior album in 2009 and "None Of Dem" on Robyn's 'Body Talk Part 1' in 2010, the 'Do It Again' mini album sees the two artists doing just that.

"This doesn't sound like Royksopp featuring Robyn or Robyn produced by Royksopp, it's just something else entirely," Royksopp continued. "The word 'collaboration' has never before been more justified in the world of music!"

"Svein and Torbjorn and I started working on new music in the beginning of 2013, I've been going back and forth to Bergen to record and write with the boys up until recently. Collaborating with S & T is something I enjoy very much.

In the beginning we just knew we wanted to do something together and then it started to feel more like a band thing than songs for a Royksopp or Robyn album so we?re releasing this music together as a band you could say" says Robyn.

The 'Do It Again' mini album represents the perfect coming together of three of the most original musical minds in the world.

"Monument's" grandeur and grace is as distinctive as it is moving and was the first song where they wrote lyrics together.

A defining moment on the mini album in the shape of a near ten-minute long anthem, which was inspired by a sculpture from artist Juliana Cerqueira Leite, which gave Robyn a "physical experience of what it's like to define yourself or stand for something or figure out who you are."

"Do It Again" is the first single taken from the mini album and is an "accidental pop song" written after a night out together in Bergen. The effervescent, effortlessly uplifting electro-pop tune started out as a rave-inspired throwback.

Elsewhere, the 'Do It Again' mini album covers big thumping house with the club-ready "Sayit", which features a near duet between Robyn and what sounds like an aroused robot.

On the other end of the spectrum there is the closing "Inside The Idle Hour Club", which utilizes Robyn's vocal discreetly to create a pensive, slowly evolving soundscape that's worth diving into headlong.