Pop Sensation Dua Lipa Among ASCAP Honorees

Empty Lighthouse is a reader-supported site. This article may contain affiliate links to Amazon and other sites. We earn a commission on purchases made through these links.

When it comes to being a rapidly growing, worldwide pop sensation, Dua Lipa has got it covered.

She is also now an American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) award recipient. She received the honor at last night's ceremony that took place at One Marylebone in London.

Two coveted ASCAP Vanguard Awards were presented at the ceremony to Dua Lipa and The Amazons.

The award recognizes the impact of outstanding ASCAP members on musical genres that will help shape the future of music. "New Rules" hitmaker Dua Lipa was presented with her award by ASCAP Chief Executive Officer Elizabeth Matthews.

After opening the ceremony with a rousing performance of "Junk Food Forever," The Amazons returned to the stage to collect the second Vanguard Award of the night.

ASCAP Vice President Membership UK/ Europe Simon Greenaway presented the Reading rockers with their award.

The prestigious ASCAP Founders Award, one of the most significant honours that ASCAP bestows upon songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators, was presented to Steve Mac in recognition of his global success and 27-year body of work.

ASCAP President Paul Williams presented the award and Mac was celebrated with a special acoustic performance from his recent "Rockabye" collaborator and one of the hottest names in British pop, Anne-Marie.

Jamaican singer Richie Stephens, whose "Sail Away (Riddim)" was sampled by Barbadian superstar Rihanna on her massive global smash "Work" featuring Drake, was presented with two awards from ASCAP Executive Vice President, Membership, John Titta -- one for Song of the Year and another for Top Digital Song.

The record-breaking song spent nine consecutive weeks at number-one on the Billboard Hot 100 and was named the best song of 2016 in NME"s year-end critics poll.

Last year's ASCAP Vanguard Award recipient MNEK returned to the ASCAP stage to accept his award for Top EDM Song."Never Forget You," a collaboration with Swedish pop princess Zara Larsson reached the top 10 in several countries, including the United Kingdom, Sweden, Denmark and Finland, and became both Larsson and MNEK"s first US chart entry.

The song is certified 5x Platinum in Sweden and 3x Platinum in the US.

British composer Joby Talbot won Film Score of the Year for his work on the Original Motion Picture Score for Illumination Entertainment's Sing.

The animated film distributed by Universal Pictures about a group of anthropomorphic animals that enter a singing competition grossed $632 million worldwide.

ASCAP Vice President Membership UK/ Europe Simon Greenaway served as host for the evening, assisted by Director, Membership UK/ Europe David Ryan Jordan.

Other awards presented this evening were in recognition of Hot 100 Songs, EDM Songs, Digital Song, Top Film and Top Television Series.