Marvel Music Releases 'Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol. 2'

Empty Lighthouse is a reader-supported site. This article may contain affiliate links to Amazon and other sites. We earn a commission on purchases made through these links.

Marvel Music/Hollywood Records are releasing the digital versions of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol. 2 songs-only album and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.

2 original score album by composer Tyler Bates ("Guardians of the Galaxy," "John Wick Chapter 2," "Watchmen") today, April 21st. The film opens in U.S. theaters on May 5, 2017.

"Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2" is filled with great action, humor and performances, but it is also infused with a new mixed tape and soundtrack, a dynamic that resonated deeply with audiences in the first film as evidenced by the success of the soundtrack album. The Grammy(R)-nominated "Guardians of the Galaxy" soundtrack reached No.

1 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart, becoming the first soundtrack album consisting entirely of previously released songs to top the chart. The album was certified Platinum by the R.I.A.A.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Vol.

2 is a collection of 14 songs and once again, music plays an important role in the telling of the story. In an exclusive interview for Rolling Stone Magazine, director James Gunn provides commentary for each track on the album.

"We had Awesome Mix Volume 1 last time, and this time we have Awesome Mix Volume 2. It was so important that it's actually part of the film's title this time around," said Director James Gunn.

"As most people know, Quill's mom made the first tape for a slightly younger boy, and she made the second tape for a slightly older boy. So, in many ways the songs reflect the story. The songs are a little bit deeper in some ways; a little bit less pop in some ways.

Some of the choices are a bit more eclectic; some of the are a bit more popular. But we have a real amazing group of songs that, like in the first movie, I wrote into the script.

They are a part of the storytelling. Each song is very specific to the scene where it's placed."

Gunn and composer Tyler Bates worked on the score during pre-production so that they would have some of the major score themes worked out before the shoot began.

This allowed Gunn, the actors and the camera crews to work with the music that will end up being used in the final film.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2: Awesome Mix Tape, Vol. 2 track list follows:

  1. "Mr. Blue Sky" - Performed by Electric Light Orchestra
  2. "Fox on the Run" - Performed by Sweet
  3. "Lake Shore Drive" - Performed by Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah
  4. "The Chain" - Performed by Fleetwood Mac
  5. "Bring It on Home to Me" - Performed by Sam Cooke
  6. "Southern Nights" - Performed by Glen Campbell
  7. "My Sweet Lord" - Performed by George Harrison
  8. "Brandy (You're a Fine Girl)" - Performed by Looking Glass
  9. "Come a Little Bit Closer" - Performed by Jay and The Americans
  10. "Wham Bam Shang-a-Lang" - Performed by Silver
  11. "Surrender" - Performed by Cheap Trick
  12. "Father and Son" - Performed by Yusef / Cat Stevens
  13. "Flash Light" - Performed by Parliament
  14. "Guardians Inferno" - Performed by The Sneepers (Featuring - David Hasselhoff)

Executive Soundtrack Producers: James Gunn, Kevin Feige and Dave Jordan

Wanna read more on this? Check these out: Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy Game Revealed At E3 2021 (more); Lego Reveals First Look At Black Widow Set (more); Metallica Cancels Their Australia And NZ Concert Tour (more); Hot Toys Announces Cool Stan Lee Figurine (more).

And here are some more related articles: Captain Marvel Trailer 2 Soars To New Heights (more); Cassadee Pope Releasing New Single Next Week Called 'One More Red Light' (more); Fozzy Releases Brand New Music Video For The Song 'Burn Me Out' (more).

A few more: Cassadee Pope Releases Photo Teasing New Music (more); Mike Shinoda Talks About The Possible Future Of Linkin Park (more).